Spring athletes earn awards

The Newtonite

by Ryan Condon and Steven Michael
Athletic Awards Night recognized the achievements of this school’s student-athletes May 31 in the auditorium.
Athletic director Tom Giusti opened the ceremony with his thoughts on the challenges and benefits of high school sports.
“Cherish every practice game and season you play,” Giusti said. “The determination you learned will stay with you forever.”
Principal Jennifer Price spoke about the lessons learned through sports, such as putting the team above the individual.
Then, each varsity team came on stage as the coaches and captains talked about their team’s season highlights and accomplishments. Each captain also gave a brief speech.
Throughout the night, some student-athletes were given scholarships and awards to recognize their achievements.
Senior Dan Anderson received the Chuck Sakakini scholarship, the Robert B. Calabro Scholarship and the William E. Connors Award. Also receiving the William E. Connors Award was senior Ellen Goldberg.
In addition to Anderson, senior Kevin Barisano also received the Robert B. Calabro Scholarship.
Receiving the David Costanzo Award and the Christopher Polci Scholarship was senior Ben Polci.
Senior Tom DeStefano received the Sandy Barztak Award, and senior Zach MacAuliffe received the Andrew Dealy Memorial Scholarship.
Senior Ben Clark received the Bobby Donohue Scholarship, and senior James Barnett received the Frank Simmons Award.
Receiving the Reginald E. Smith Memorial Award was senior T.J. Ryan, and senior Isaiah Penn received the Edwin H. Wiest Memorial Scholarship. The George Jessup Scholarship went to senior Casey Bryson.
The night also included awards for freshmen who showed dedication and commitment to the athletic program.
The Simon Surabian Award went to freshmen Amelia Williams and Jermel Wright, the Sandy Barztak Award to Anthony Vitone and the Marilyn Murphy Award to Evie Heffernan.
For earning at least seven varsity letters, plaques were given to seniors:
◆ Corrine Beatrice
◆ Ben Clark
◆ Ryan Donovan
◆ Tatiana Froehlich
◆ Megan Gentile
◆ Margo Gillis
◆ Ellen Goldberg
◆ Evelyn Hurwitz
◆ Emily Hutchinson
◆ Ezra Lichtman
◆ Nick Link
◆ Amy Lu
◆ Isaiah Penn
◆ Ben Polci
◆ Meghan Pursley
◆ Dan Ranti
◆ Amy Ren
◆ T.J. Ryan
◆ Marissa Troy
◆ Michele Troy