The Student News Site of Newton North High School

The Newtonite

The Newtonite

The Newtonite

Follow Us on Twitter

Spring Awards night honors athletes


by MacKenzie Silvia
Spring Athletic Awards Night honored the achievements of this school’s student-athletes May 27 in the auditorium.
Principal Jennifer Price praised each spring team for making it into the MIAA State Tournament and discussed the importance of being part of a team. “The Tigers are ranked #2 in all Division 1 schools in Massachusetts,” Price said. “That deserves a round of applause.”
Then, coaches and captains from each team took the stage to discuss the teams’ accomplishments and highlights. One player per team received the Sportsmanship Award.
Next, various student-athletes were given awards and scholarships to applaud their achievements.
Freshman Madison Schaefer won one of the top freshman awards, the Marilyn Murphy Award.
The Simon Surabian Award was given to dedicated freshmen athletes Caroline Bass and Bryce Adam. Freshman Theodore Yerardi was awarded with the Sandy Barztak Award.
Senior Leah Howard was awarded the Frank Simmons Award and senior Daniel Barton was given the Chuck Sakatini Scholarship.
Senior Anthony Calabro was given the Andrew Dealy Memorial Scholarship and senior Michael Shale was awarded with the Sandy Barztak Scholarship.
Receiving the coach Jim Blackburn Scholarship was Michael Schlichting, and senior John Little received the Howard Ferguson Scholarship.
Senior Jared Perlo received the Reginald E. Smith Award, and senior Scott McDonald received the David Costanzo Award. The Robert B. Calabro Scholarship was given to Christian Fanning.
The prestigious William Connors “Team Above Self” award was given to seniors Leah Howard and Daniel Barton.
Faculty member Eric Hawkes was awarded with the Tiger Recognition Award.
Plaques were given to seniors who recieved at least seven varsity letters:
-Jack Boucher
-Alex Fabry
-Jermel Wright
-Sean McIntyre
-Ben Galgano
-Jackson King
-Maeve Greeley
-Infiniti Thomas-Waheed
– Maddie Bledsoe
-Adam Gofstein
-Nick Fofana
-Gabe Montague
-Michaela Smith
-Anna D’Alleva
-Shannon Fitzgerald
-Lizzie Rudie
-Mike Schlichting
-Sunny Lehman
-Michael Shale
-Caroline Lafleche
-Raffi Razaque
-Tommy Hodgson
-Leah Howard
-Adrian Butterton
-Elizabeth Koch
-Yongyi Zhao
-Ali Pekar
-Julian Chase
-Max Brandl
-Jenna Hogan
-Jared Freedman
-Lizzie Reid
-Evie Heffernan
-Hannah Searles
-Emma Tavolieri

Leave a Comment
Donate to The Newtonite
More to Discover
Donate to The Newtonite

Comments (0)

All The Newtonite Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *