The Student News Site of Newton North High School

The Newtonite

The Newtonite

The Newtonite

Follow Us on Twitter

Students, faculty nominate teachers for excellence awards

by Amanda Hills
Every year, two teachers at this school are awarded the Paul E. Elicker and Brenda Keegan awards for excellence in teaching. This year’s awards will be distributed Wednesday, May 30.
All members of the school community can nominate teachers for these awards, according to French teacher Alieu Jobe, who is the Elicker/Keegan committee chairperson, which ultimately decides which nominees will receive the awards.
Nomination forms can be accessed through a link on this school’s website, and must be submitted by Friday, May 18.
According to the awards’ information sheet, an excellent teacher has “a deep appreciation and knowledge of a subject matter, teaching that stretches the mind of students and standards for performance that inspire excellence.”
In addition to Jobe, the Elicker/Keegan committee is comprised of principal Jennifer Price, Adams housemaster James D’Orazio, award sponsor Brenda Keegan, counselor Michele Kennedy, math teacher Janice Lichtman, science and technology/engineering department head Amy Winston, business teacher Ellen Novinsky, senior Veronica Ingham, junior Mark Vrahas and parents Sally Brickell and Lynn Leblanc.
The Elicker award was founded in 1991, when Paul Elicker ’40 gave this school a grant to be used to honor deserving teachers.
In 2010, former English department head Brenda Keegan established the Keegan award to further recognize exceptional teachers.
Jobe said that the importance of distributing these awards is “to recognize all those who inspire students to think––both critically and creatively.”

Leave a Comment
Donate to The Newtonite
More to Discover
Donate to The Newtonite

Comments (0)

All The Newtonite Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *