Student Faculty Administration votes on first bill

The Newtonite

by Jared Perlo
Student Faculty Administration members made progress in yesterday’s meeting as its first proposal was submitted and discussed.

The bill, authored by student co-chair senior Caleb Bromberg, junior Winston Huang and sophomore Ned Martenis, details the SFA’s agenda for this year.

The proposal is split into three main parts, or facets, each of which detail prospective SFA actions for the coming year.

The first and most substantial facet provides four main tasks for the SFA this year, including the “creation of a student hangout spot in the cafeteria, reducing the crowding and time spent in the lunch lines, improving the consistency (and sound) of the tones between classes and the possibility of making laptop computers available to student during study halls,” the bill states.

Possibly the most important section of the bill and mentioned above is the creation of a place for students to socialize in the cafeteria, also called a student union. Bromberg said, “We could create a hangout space in this partially walled-off nook in the cafeteria. It would give people a destination, rather than roaming the hallways and overpopulating the library.”

Being one of the SFA’s most important priorities, the second facet of the proposal suggested creating a committee to draft plans for the student union to fast track its creation.

However, history and social sciences teacher Ty Vignone said he wanted to make sure that the organization would not get too focused on the individual ideas within the first facet. “I don’t want the situation to be ‘Hey, great ideas!’ then off we go and we don’t see each other for a whole week,” he said.

At the conclusion of the meeting, members unanimously voted to establish the four tasks outlined in the first facet of the agenda. While voting, members decided to expand the issue of laptops in study halls to the issue of study halls in general, and how students can more effectively use them.

Members also unanimously approved the creation of four committees to refine and devise implementable school policies for each of the four tasks.